Best of 2026 ยท Fire Pits

The best fire pits of 2026, ranked by use case

Last updated by the Brevley & Sons editorial team

Short answer: On published specs, the Breeo X Series 24 ($599 Corten) is our best overall smokeless wood fire pit, and the 22 inch X19 ($399) is the pick for small patios. If you live where summer or winter bans stop wood fires, as much of Washington and Oregon did in 2026, buy propane: the Outdoor GreatRoom Kenwood and Brooks Round ($1,999, 55,000 BTU) is our pick. We ranked on maker data only and did not test these pits.

Not legal or electrical advice. This guide summarizes published manuals, codes and agency pages as of the date above. Rules change and vary by jurisdiction. Confirm your plans with a licensed electrician or contractor and your local building department before you buy or install.

How we ranked these (please read). We have not tested any of these fire pits hands-on. We ranked them on each maker's own published specs, warranty terms and use instructions, checked live on the maker's site on October 22, 2026: price, fuel, diameter, weight, heat output for gas models, surface and deck guidance, warranty, and stated place of manufacture. We did not use customer reviews or star ratings, and we quote no reviewer. "Made in" wording appears only where the maker states it in writing, and we quote it as the maker's claim. Prices change often, so confirm on the linked page. Brevley & Sons does not currently sell these brands, and no brand paid for placement.

The short list

  1. Best overall smokeless wood fire pit: Breeo X Series 24
  2. Best for small patios: Breeo X Series 19
  3. Best propane fire table for burn-ban areas in Washington and Oregon: Outdoor GreatRoom Kenwood and Brooks Round Chat Height
  4. Best for wind and Las Vegas: Outdoor GreatRoom Cove Concrete Round 36"
  5. Best cooking fire pit: Breeo X Series 30 with Outpost Grill
  6. Best portable, and the only wood pit here its maker clears for decks: Breeo Y Series
  7. Best smokeless insert for an existing stone or block pit: Breeo Zentro 24" Round Insert
  8. Best budget gas fire table: Outdoor GreatRoom Stonefire Round

Why fuel matters more than brand in the Northwest

Most "best fire pit" lists rank wood pits on looks and smoke. In Washington and Oregon the first question is whether you will be allowed to light it. In 2026 the City of Portland's burn ban on recreational fires and fire pits ran from June 15 to October 15, Vancouver banned all recreational burning from June 17, Pierce and King counties went to Stage 2 bans in August, and the Governor put all 39 Washington counties under a burn ban from August 1 to September 30. Winter adds air quality bans: Puget Sound Clean Air bans wood and charcoal fires on Stage 1 and Stage 2 days, and Multnomah County bans outdoor fire pits on red days from October 1 through March 1. A smokeless wood pit is still a wood fire under every one of those rules.

Propane is not a free pass either. Washington's summer orders mostly exempt gas stoves, grills or appliances, but Lane Regional Air Protection Agency counts propane fire pits as recreational fires on winter yellow and red days in Eugene and Springfield. We walk through each agency's wording in can you use a propane fire pit during a summer burn ban, and the winter rules in our Washington and Oregon burn ban guides. If you want fire on most evenings of the year in Seattle, Portland or Eugene, a listed gas table is the practical choice. If you want wood and can live with idle weeks, a Breeo is the strongest wood option we found.

Side-by-side specs

All figures from the maker's product page as of October 22, 2026. "Origin" is the maker's own wording, or "not stated" if we found none.

Fire pitPriceFuelSizeWeightOutputWarrantyOrigin (maker's claim)
Breeo X Series 24$599 Corten, $799 stainlessWood27.5 in outside, 23.5 in inside, 14.75 in tall62 lbTakes 16 to 18 in woodLimited lifetimeBuilt in Lancaster County, PA, from American-sourced steel
Breeo X Series 19$399 Corten, $499 stainlessWood22.13 in outside, 18.5 in inside, 14.75 in tall47 lbTakes 14 to 16 in woodLimited lifetimeBuilt in Lancaster County, PA, from American-sourced steel
OGR Kenwood and Brooks Round Chat Height$1,999Propane (natural gas kit included)41.77 in across, 20.09 or 23.24 in tallNot listed55,000 BTU3-yr table structure, 10-yr burner (residential)Not stated
OGR Cove Concrete Round 36"$2,499 manual, $4,199 electronic ignitionPropane or natural gas36 in across, 16 in tall230 lb55,000 BTU1-yr GFRC structure and finish, 10-yr burner (residential)"Made in the USA with globally sourced components"
Breeo X Series 30 + Outpost Grill$1,399 Corten or $1,599 stainless, plus $239 grillWood34.5 in outside, 29.5 in inside94 lb (pit)Takes wood up to 24 inLimited lifetime (pit)Pit: built in Lancaster County, PA. Grill: "Made by Breeo in the USA"
Breeo Y Series$399Wood, lump charcoal or pelletsCompact, collapsible legs31 lbn/aLimited lifetime"Made by Breeo in the USA"
Breeo Zentro 24" Round$1,099Wood24 in inside, 12 in tall, fits a 27 to 33 in block ring77 lbn/aLifetime"Built 100% in America"
OGR Stonefire Round$999Propane (natural gas kit included)31.5 in across, 22.63 in tall35 lb55,000 BTU3-yr table structure, 10-yr burner (residential)Not stated

OGR is Outdoor GreatRoom. Its warranty page lists a 10-year limited lifetime warranty on Crystal Fire Plus stainless burners in residential use, 3 years on ignition and electronic parts, 3 years structural on fire pit table bases and tops, and 1 year on structure and finish for its Supercast glass fiber reinforced concrete (GFRC) products such as the Cove. Glass wind guards carry 90 days.

1. Best overall smokeless wood fire pit: Breeo X Series 24

Why it ranks first: it is the size most backyards actually need, it is built from heavier material than most portable smokeless pits, and it anchors a cooking system you can add to later. Breeo rates the X24 for four or more chairs. The double wall and what Breeo calls its X Airflow vent pull air up between the walls and out through holes around the rim, which Breeo says causes smoke to reburn. Breeo is candid that this depends on technique: its FAQ says it cannot guarantee a pit will never smoke and that the amount "depends greatly on how well the fire is built."

  • Price: $599 in Corten steel, $799 in stainless, free standard shipping in the contiguous US per Breeo.
  • Size and weight: 27.5 in outside, 23.5 in inside, 14.75 in tall, 62 lb. Breeo recommends 16 to 18 inch wood, so standard 16 inch splits fit.
  • Material: Breeo lists heavy-gauge 304 stainless and Corten steel. Corten arrives blue-gray and weathers to a rust patina, which some people want and others will not like on a light patio.
  • Where made: Breeo says every Breeo fire pit is "designed and built by craftsmen in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, from American-sourced steel."
  • Warranty: limited lifetime, plus a 30-day return policy.
  • Watch for: Breeo says not to use its fire pits directly on heat-sensitive surfaces, and its X Series user guide says never on wooden or composite decks or stamped concrete, with 10 feet of clearance overhead. It is a wood fire, so every wood burn ban in Washington and Oregon applies.

2. Best for small patios: Breeo X Series 19

Why: Breeo calls the X19 "ideal for small backyards" and rates it for two or more chairs. At 22 inches across and 47 lb it is the smallest X Series and the least expensive, and it shares the X24's construction, origin and warranty. On a narrow city lot the limiting factor is usually distance, not diameter. Seattle and Portland both require 25 feet from structures for a recreational fire, while a portable outdoor fireplace needs 15 feet, with one- and two-family homes exempt from that 15 foot rule in both cities. Which category your pit falls into is worth asking your fire marshal; see how far a fire pit must be from a house.

  • Price: $399 Corten, $499 stainless.
  • Size: 22.13 in outside, 18.5 in inside, 14.75 in tall. Takes 14 to 16 inch wood, so you may need to cut standard splits.
  • Watch for: same surface rules as the X24. It is not a deck pit.

3. Best propane fire table for burn-ban areas in Washington and Oregon: Outdoor GreatRoom Kenwood and Brooks Round Chat Height

Why: if your fire pit has to work during the months when wood is banned, the fuel matters more than anything on the spec sheet. This table runs on a standard 20 lb propane tank hidden behind an access door in the base, puts out 55,000 BTU through a 20 inch Crystal Fire Plus burner, and comes set up for propane with a natural gas conversion kit included. Outdoor GreatRoom says the burner is UL listed, and its engineering blog says its Crystal Fire Plus burners are listed to ANSI Z21.97 and use a thermocouple that senses the main flame and shuts off the gas if it goes out. A listed appliance with a working shutoff is closer to what Washington agencies described as allowed in 2026 than a homemade gas ring is.

  • Price: $1,999 at Outdoor GreatRoom (Kenwood in Umber Brown, Brooks in Taupe).
  • Size: 41.77 in across, 20.09 or 23.24 in tall per the spec list. Weight is not listed.
  • Build: composite decking top and base on powder-coated aluminum framing, glass burner cover included, manual push-button ignition with an electronic ignition upgrade.
  • Warranty: 3 years structural on the table, 10-year limited lifetime on the burner in residential use, 3 years on ignition parts.
  • Watch for: Outdoor GreatRoom says a glass guard "is highly recommended for use on products with composite material," and the wind guard is sold separately. And "propane" does not mean "always allowed": Pierce County's August 2026 Stage 2 notice banned backyard fire pits and exempted only barbecues, and LRAPA's winter rule in Eugene and Springfield covers propane fire pits. Check your agency's wording before you buy for that reason.

4. Best for wind and Las Vegas: Outdoor GreatRoom Cove Concrete Round 36"

Why: in an open Las Vegas yard or on an exposed Puget Sound deck, the things that help in wind are mass, a low profile, a wind guard and a burner that shuts off safely if the flame blows out. The 36 inch Cove weighs 230 lb per Outdoor GreatRoom and stands 16 inches tall, it takes an optional glass wind guard, and Outdoor GreatRoom says it tests its burners for wind, rain and nuisance shutdowns. It is also the only Outdoor GreatRoom table we checked with an origin statement: the maker lists it as "Made in the USA with globally sourced components."

  • Price: from $2,499 with manual ignition (propane, with natural gas conversion kit), $4,199 with electronic ignition. Larger sizes (42, 48, 60 and 72 in) cost more.
  • Burner: 20 inch round Crystal Fire Plus stainless burner, 55,000 BTU, UL listed per Outdoor GreatRoom.
  • Material: Supercast GFRC concrete in six finishes.
  • Warranty: 1 year on GFRC structure and finish (Outdoor GreatRoom treats hairline cracks under 1/8 inch as non-structural), 10-year burner.
  • Watch for: unlike the Kenwood and Brooks, the Cove page does not mention a hidden tank compartment, so plan where the propane tank or gas line goes. At 230 lb, this is a place-it-once table. Las Vegas distance rules and HOA limits are in our Las Vegas fire pit guide.

5. Best cooking fire pit: Breeo X Series 30 with the Outpost Grill

Why: most fire pits can hold a grate. Breeo builds the X Series as the base of a cooking system: the Outpost Grill is a 304 stainless grate on a rod with fully adjustable height and 360 degree rotation, so you can swing food off the heat instead of moving coals. The X30 gives you a 29.5 inch firebox for a cooking zone and a warming zone at the same time, and Breeo sells a Pizza Oven X30 Adapter ($179) for it. If you cook for two, the Outpost also fits the X24.

  • Price: X30 $1,399 Corten or $1,599 stainless. Outpost Grill with rod: $239 for X24 and X30, $149 for X19 and Y Series.
  • Size and weight: 34.5 in outside, 29.5 in inside, 14.75 in tall, 94 lb. Takes wood up to 24 inches. Breeo rates it for eight or more chairs.
  • Where made: the X30 falls under Breeo's Lancaster County statement, and the Outpost page says "Made by Breeo in the USA."
  • Watch for: Breeo does not offer express shipping on the X30. Cooking over wood is still a wood fire under burn bans; only a gas grill or gas appliance fits most summer exemptions.

6. Best portable, and the only wood pit here its maker clears for decks: Breeo Y Series

Why: the Y Series is 31 lb with collapsible legs and a carry handle, and it burns wood, lump charcoal or pellets. The detail that sets it apart is surface guidance. Breeo says its built-in heat shield "allows you to safely burn on all surfaces including composite and wood decks," with the legs extended to the highest setting on composite decking. No other wood pit on this list carries that statement from its maker. Solo Stove, for comparison, says a wooden deck is "a no-go" unless you use its separate Fire Pit Stand.

  • Price: $399.
  • Where made: "Made by Breeo in the USA," per the product page.
  • Watch for: a maker's deck clearance is not a fire code approval. Seattle's rules keep portable outdoor fireplaces 15 feet from structures and off decks and balconies, with single-family homes and duplexes exempt from the 15 foot rule, so ask the fire marshal how that applies to your home. Many HOAs and landlords ban open flame on decks outright. Breeo's page does not list the Y Series diameter, so check the spec sheet before you plan a small space around it.

7. Best smokeless insert for an existing stone or block pit: Breeo Zentro 24" Round

Why: a lot of Northwest yards already have a block or stone ring that smokes badly. Breeo designed the Zentro to drop into that ring and convert it to a double-wall smokeless burn without tearing anything out. The 24 inch round insert is 304 stainless, 12 inches tall, 77 lb, includes a lid, and fits a block ring with a 27 to 33 inch inside diameter. Breeo calls the Zentro "built 100% in America" and backs it with a lifetime warranty.

  • Price: $1,099 for the 24 inch round. The 30 inch round and 24 inch square are $1,699.
  • Fit: Breeo says your surround should be at least 15 inches deep so the insert sits with 3 inches of air space below it. Measure before you order. The product page lists the 24 inch round ring fit as 27 to 33 inches in its description and 26 to 32 inches in its size selector, so confirm with Breeo if your ring is near either end.
  • Watch for: it is still a wood fire, and a built-in ring cannot be moved to meet a 25 foot setback after the fact.

8. Best budget gas fire table: Outdoor GreatRoom Stonefire Round

Why: at $999 it is the least expensive listed gas table we found from Outdoor GreatRoom, and it does not cut the important parts. It uses the same 55,000 BTU Crystal Fire Plus burner rating as the larger tables (a 16 inch burner here), hides a 20 lb tank in the base, comes with a natural gas conversion kit, and its matching burner cover turns it into a side table. At 35 lb it is light enough to move with the seasons.

  • Size: 31.5 in across, 22.63 in tall.
  • Build: powder-coated aluminum frame with mesh base and composite top, in brown or light grey.
  • Watch for: the light weight that makes it easy to move also makes it the opposite of the Cove in wind, so add the glass wind guard in exposed spots. Outdoor GreatRoom says to remove the burner cover before lighting, every time.

Also considered

  • Solo Stove Infinity Flame ($599.99). Solo Stove's first propane fire pit: up to 72,000 BTU, 42 in across, 20 in tall, 75.8 lb, about 5.5 hours on a 20 lb tank on the Dual-High setting per Solo Stove, with a hidden tank compartment. It is the lowest-priced propane table in this comparison. Solo Stove's own FAQ says burn ban use "depends on local restrictions." We did not find an origin statement on the page.
  • Solo Stove Bonfire. The best-known portable smokeless pit: 19.5 in across, 23.3 lb, 304 stainless, lifetime warranty, with a removable ash pan. At 23.3 lb it is about half the weight of a Breeo X19, which makes it easier to carry but less of a fixture. Solo Stove says it needs its Stand on a wooden deck.
  • Breeo Luxeve ($1,899). A 33 inch smokeless wood pit with decorative glass and a lid. Breeo says it is not compatible with the Outpost cooking system, so it is for looks rather than cooking.

How to choose in five questions

  1. Which bans apply at your address? Summer fire safety bans and winter air quality bans are separate. If wood is banned for months where you live, buy gas. Start with our Washington and Oregon guides.
  2. How far can it sit from the house? Wood recreational fires need 25 feet in Seattle and Portland; gas tables follow the maker's manual. See fire pit distance from a house.
  3. What surface is it going on? Most wood pits are not for decks. Only the Breeo Y Series here is cleared by its maker for wood and composite decks.
  4. Wood, gas or smokeless? The tradeoffs are in wood vs gas vs smokeless fire pit.
  5. Will you cook on it? If yes, pick a pit with a real cooking system rather than a loose grate.

Sources

All maker pages checked October 22, 2026. 2026 burn ban dates are from the agency sources cited in our propane burn ban guide.

Related guides

More buying guides

Frequently asked questions

What is the best fire pit in 2026?

On published specs, our overall pick is the Breeo X Series 24 ($599 in Corten steel or $799 in stainless at Breeo as of October 22, 2026). It is 27.5 inches across, weighs 62 lb, takes 16 to 18 inch wood, fits four or more chairs per Breeo, and carries Breeo's limited lifetime warranty. If wood fires are restricted where you live, a propane table such as the Outdoor GreatRoom Kenwood and Brooks Round is the better buy.

Did Brevley & Sons test these fire pits?

No. We have not tested any of these fire pits hands-on. We ranked them on what each maker publishes: price, fuel, size, weight, heat output for gas models, warranty terms, surface and clearance guidance, and stated place of manufacture, plus the burn rules in Washington, Oregon and Las Vegas that decide whether you can actually light them. Every source is linked.

Which fire pits are made in the USA?

Only go by what the maker states in writing. Breeo says every Breeo fire pit is designed and built in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, from American-sourced steel, and calls the Zentro insert built 100% in America. Outdoor GreatRoom lists the Cove Concrete Round as "Made in the USA with globally sourced components." We did not find an origin statement on the Outdoor GreatRoom Kenwood, Brooks or Stonefire pages, or on the Solo Stove pages we checked.

Can I use a propane fire pit during a burn ban in Washington or Oregon?

Often, but not always, and the wording matters. During the August 2026 Washington statewide ban, the Governor exempted liquid-fueled or gas-fueled stoves or grills over a non-flammable surface at least five feet from flammable vegetation. King County's Stage 2 ban allowed natural gas or propane appliances, and Mercer Island said its Stage 2 ban did not include gas fire tables. In Eugene and Springfield, LRAPA's winter rule counts propane fire pits as recreational fires. See our propane burn ban guide for each agency.

Are smokeless fire pits really smokeless?

Not completely, by the makers' own account. Breeo says it cannot guarantee its pits will never produce smoke and that the amount depends on how well the fire is built. Solo Stove says its design is "nearly eliminating all smoke" and that a little startup smoke is normal. Smokeless wood pits still burn wood, so wood-fire bans apply to them.

What is the best fire pit for wind in Las Vegas?

Weight and a wind guard help most. The Outdoor GreatRoom Cove Concrete Round 36 inch weighs 230 lb per the maker and accepts an optional glass wind guard, and Outdoor GreatRoom says it tests its burners for wind and rain. A gas table also avoids embers. Check your HOA and the City of Las Vegas or Clark County distance rules in our Las Vegas fire pit guide.

Keep reading

Browse our fire pits collection, see all guides, or ask us a question about your project.